A Year Older: 7 Things I Learned in My 25th Year

ToriRTerhune Tori Randolph TerhuneIt’s official! I’m old. I turn 26 today, and I’m a little sad because my 25th year was definitely the best yet. I got married, bought a house, published a book and more! It reminds me of Andy’s line in ‘The Office’ finale, “I wish there was a way to know you were in the good old days before you’ve actually left them.” To celebrate my best year yet, I’m going to share the tidbits of wisdom I gathered from my experiences.

1. Weddings are romanticized. There’s no way to tell a bride this when it’s her turn, but have a destination wedding and only invite the 20 people you actually care about. Seriously. I have an insanely supportive family and only had two bridesmaids (sisters), and I was about ready to pull my hair out. You’ll realize about 6 months into planning what you really would have preferred to do, so take heed!

2. People are generally nice online. When I ramped up my social following to over 18,000 this year, I was worried that I was opening myself up to bullying, trolls, etc. I was pleasantly surprised to find exactly the opposite. When I really put my authentic self out there and asked for honest feedback, people were generally respectful and kind.

3. You have to write an index when you write a book. This may seem obvious to some, but it threw me. If you ever plan on writing a non-fiction book, beware that you either have to index it, or pay someone to index it. That’s an entire industry. Who knew?

4. Buying a house is great for your taxes. A lovely surprise this tax season (and why we might get a new backyard this summer!).

5. The best place to stay at Disneyland Resort: the Paradise Pier concierge level. Not only are you close to the park, you can rent any Disney movie for free, have free breakfast every morning, snacks in the afternoon AND drinks at happy hour. (Shoutout to my sister, CJ, who planned my bachelorette party here!)

6. San Francisco Giants are the best team in baseball. But that’s a given. 🙂

7. When you’ve finished learning, it’s time to move on. I learned this from a mentor of mine this year. If you are no longer learning from your work, but rather putting more into the job than you are getting out, it’s time to move on. Find a new job and continue your learning curve to develop your strengths and accelerate your career.

In looking forward to year 26, I’m excited to finish and publish the second book, get a puppy and fly a plane! And I resolve to celebrate the good old times right now. 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Year Older: 7 Things I Learned in My 25th Year

  1. Happy Birthday Tori! And YOU are going to have MANY “best” years!! Congratulations on a solidly great 1st quarter and year, and keep on learning growing and passing it on!!

Leave a Reply

